Fava and Garbanzo Bean Spread

Fava beans, garbanzo beans, appetizer, bean spreadIs it normal to walk in to the grocery store and see an abundance of seasonal produce–peas, fava beans, asparagus, and zucchini (making an early appearance)–and be overcome by excitement and stand in front of said produce racking your brain to come up with ideas just so you can buy it and cook it? Ok, so maybe just me.

It felt really good to get back in the kitchen. This was a really busy week of god knows what, and somehow the time just seemed to get away from me. It is very grounding for me to get back to cooking. (Side note: If you told me I would say that 5 years ago, I would have laughed in your face.) If you ask a man what they’re thinking about and they say “Nothing” they mean just that, literally NOT ONE THING. I don’t know how that’s physically possible. When a woman says they’re thinking about Nothing they generally mean the exact opposite. I live in a constant state of “kangaroo brain”– boing, boing, boing from one thought to another. But when I’m chopping vegetables, or cooking pasta, or rolling up enchiladas, it’s an escape from thinking about picking up the dry cleaning, or the bathrooms should really be cleaned, etc. It’s like yoga, only not at all.

I can’t really say what inspired me specifically to make this, but seeing as cocktail hour is my favorite time of the day, I thought I’d make myself something to enjoy with my cocktail, and gain a little mental piece of mind at the same time.

  • 1 cup fresh fava beans
  • 1 cup canned garbanzo beans
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt to taste
  • French baguette, cut in to 1” slices and toasted

For directions on how to remove the pods from the fresh fava beans, click here.

Bring a small saucepan of water to boil. When you reach a rolling boil, blanch the fava beans for 3-5 minutes, until crisp tender. Drain in to a colander and rinse with cold water.

Combine the fava beans, garbanzo beans, lemon zest, lemon juice, toasted pine nuts, garlic cloves, and smoked paprika in a food processor and pureé until smooth. Drizzle in the olive oil until you get a not-quite-pesto-like consistency. Season with salt to taste.

Spoon a large dollop of spread over your toasted baguette slices and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

