Granola

I really love breakfast. No, I really love breakfast. Sometimes when I’m going to sleep at Healthy Granolanight, I’m excited to wake up the next morning so I can have breakfast. Did I really just admit that?

Lucky for me, I get to have a “second breakfast” when I’m at work. At mid-morning, when I take my first break of the day, that’s when I get to have my favorite meal all over again. I serve the granola over low-fat yogurt for added protein with either cut fresh berries if they’re in season or any variety of dried fruit. Most store-bought oatmeal has so much fat that I think even Julia Child would raise an eyebrow. But this oatmeal is very different. Look ma, no butter! And even better, the prep for this granola was quite literally 5 minutes. The possibilities for this granola are endless so feel free to experiment!

This makes a great breakfast, even if you’re only having one per day.

Recipe lightly adapted from Bon Appétit

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1.5 cups of chopped nuts (I used pistachios & walnuts, but the possibilities are endless!)
  • 1.5 cups coconut shavings
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg white, lightly beaten with a fork

Preheat oven to 350˚.

Combine all your ingredients in a large bowl and toss well to coat. Spread out in a parchment lined 9 x 13 baking dish. Bake for approximately 40 minutes, mixing about every 10 minutes to get your mixture evenly golden. The granola will last in an airtight container for at least a couple weeks.

3 thoughts on “Granola

  1. Haha I’m exactly the same! Breakfast is the highlight of every day. I made a butterless granola the other day too, I’m so into granola at the moment!

  2. Hey girl! I was anxiously waiting for this granola recipe that you spoke of at our lunch. It looks fabulous! I’m like you, I love my breakfast! It’s actually my favorite meal of the day. I have one quick question, do you use sweetened or unsweetened coconut here? I’m off to Whole Foods in a bit and would love to pick up these ingredients. It’s a great day to make granola as it’s raining. xoxo, Jackie

Leave a Reply

