Apple & Barley Salad

I wasn’t planning on posting this recipe because I didn’t think it was “fancy”enough. But Arugula salad, Apple, Barleythen I realized this blog isn’t supposed to be about only “fancy” recipes, but my everyday journey trying to eat healthy and not spending my life in the kitchen trying to do so. What does fancy mean anyways?? So here we are.

When I’m not working, I like to make different things for lunch. Ideas can be hard to come by so I’m always looking for inspiration. In this case, inspiration came while in the check out at Whole Foods. I noticed a banner hanging from the ceiling above me with a picture of barley and apples, or something like that. So I decided to add a couple things and turn it in to a salad. I make this lunch for myself often, and although un-fancy, it’s always super easy and delicious.

  • 1/2 apple diced (I use Braeburn or Honey Crisp, but any kind of apple will do)
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup barley (I use Mother’s quick cooking barley for this recipe, but you can use regular barley just the same)
  • 1 medium shallot diced
  • 2 big handfuls of arugula

Dressing:

  • 2 tbsp Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp dried thyme

Bring 1 cup of water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add the barley, reduce to a simmer and allow to cook until tender, which will only be about 10 minutes if you use quick cooking barley. If you’re using regular barley, it will take a bit longer, about 30 minutes. Once the barley is cooked, dump in to a strainer and rinse with cold water to cool.

While the barley cooks, add your arugula, apple, shallot, and pine nuts to a bowl. Add the cooled barley to the bowl. To make your dressing, whisk the olive oil, apple cider vinegar and thyme together in a small bowl. Pour over your salad and toss to coat. Enjoy!

(And I realize I said I would post the recipe from my beet salad but the picture is completely un-appetizing, so I’m going to make it again at some point and hope to get a better picture.)

Leave a Reply

